Chacun voit midi à sa porte

I'll leave the translation of the title as an exercise to my anglophone readership. Or at least to those who think that Apple, in Australia, Asia and Oceania is releasing the iPhone OS 3.0 one day later than in Europe or the U.S. (evidence here and, surprisingly, here).

Guys, get a clue. This might come as a surprise to some of you, but the following three dates, seemingly different, are actually describing the same exact moment in time:

  • San Francisco (U.S.A. - California - PDT / GMT-7) June 17, 2009 - 10:00:00 AM
  • Sydney (Australia - New South Wales - EST - GMT+10) June 18, 2009 - 3:00:00 AM
  • Noumea (New Caledonia - GMT+11) June 18, 2009 - 4:00:00 AM

(Sometimes I wonder if there are still people who can own a Mac or an iPhone and yet believe that the earth is flat...)

mensuelles Archives

Recent Entries

  • Steve Jobs

    "Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because...

  • Your privacy on MOTOBLUR by Motorola

    After the Nokia Ovi Store carelessness, it's now Motorola who's allowing strangers to get access to your private information on their MOTOBLUR portal. Exactly like...

  • How to resume a broken ADC download

    (I'm documenting this trick for myself to remember, but it can be useful for others…) Apple, on its Apple Developer Connection site, has a bad...

  • WTF is this ‘myEventWatcherDiv’ doing in my web?

    All of a sudden I started to find the following line in most of the web pages I was browsing, including ones I made where...

  • Your privacy on Nokia Ovi Store

    My friend Adam Greenfield recently complained about the over-engineering culture at Nokia: I was given an NFC phone, and told to tap it against the...